Oil Leak?

Emira28

Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira Owner
Spotted this small puddle under the Emira yesterday (January build and >1,000 miles on the clock). Fluid is light brown and oily. I'm not an expert (at all), is this engine oil? How worried should I be about driving it?

Hard to say exactly where it's coming from but it's rear right under the car, just inside the right rear tyre. Some of the fluid is lighter.

I've dropped Lotus Silverstone a note and will follow up with a call later today but thought I'd seek any community thoughts.

IMG-9916.jpg

From memory I believe the power steering lines run to the rear on the right hand side and of course there will be hard and flexi brake lines in that area so worth checking these out before you drive anywhere.

Assuming the setup is similar to the Evora, that’s generally where the oil filter and oil pan is located. Because the underbody is all covered up, it will be hard to tell exactly where it is coming from.

Side note: If you look at the above oil spill picture sideways, it looks like a scared dog or maybe a bear 😁

It's a manual. I can see some on the undertray and diffuser but I can't see where it's coming from beyond that.

Waiting to hear back from Lotus Silverstone.

Just a suggestion....if you are concerned about driving the car, why don't you call Lotus roadside assistance that comes with your vehicle warranty. They can at least check the car and advise if its safe to drive and if not they will simply recover the car for you, to the dealer. Most cars have warning lights that will come on these days to advise of any significant loss of fluids that will affect driving anyway.