• The September 2024 Lotus Emira Photo of the Month contest is underway! Please take a moment to check out thread here: 🏆 September 2024 - Emira of the Month starts now! (You can dismiss this message by clicking the X in the top right hand corner of this notice.)

Ceramic vs Wax

nelly111s

Emira Fanatic
Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira Owner
What are the benefits of ceramic coating compared with wax on the Emira?
Are use waxes as part of my work (I’m a woodworker and woodturner ). There are waxes that are carnauba based, but most of these are mixed with something like beeswax to make it soft enough to apply. There are also waxes that are microcrystalline, such as Renaissance wax which was developed for the British Museum to apply to things like suits of armour which people used to touch.
I realised that ceramic coating may be a little harder when cured than wax, but at the end of the day, it is still a very thin film. It won’t protect against stone chips like PPF will. I understand that it may have better water shedding properties than wax. All the cars that I have seen after having ceramic coating applied have looked fantastic, but that also applies to cars that were detailed and waxed in the past

So if I choose the wax route, I realise that I will have to re-wax the car more often , but from a protection point of view, is this any worse or better than ceramic coating applied every couple of years?

I was very skeptical against ceramic (the pro stuff) for years. When I got a new car recently I did the full front in PPF (with ceramic on top) and the rest in ceramic only. There is a lot of difference in how water and dirt will not stick as easily vs a well waxed car. Before I would wash a waxed car every week or two to keep clean. With the ceramic one I've washed it maybe 3 times in 6 months. I spot clean bugs etc if necessary which is mainly on the front PPF anyway. .
I decided after that to do my 911 in full PPF and then applied ceramic on top of the PPF.