Tailgating

seriously

Emira Fanatic
Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira Owner
Are you guys getting tailgated on the freeways more?

I’m noticing it and not sure if it’s just me or coincidence.

I am a very aware driver, try to be courteous but am generally faster than the speed of traffic mostly for safety.

I hate when people tailgate me in general but especially when I’m driving a sportscar that can stop faster than they can.

I’m assuming they are just trying to look at my car but it’s annoying and can be dangerous.

This happens to me occasionally but usually people are trying to get up beside me to get a closer look at the car. Every now and then someone in a Mustang or souped up Civic will get on my tail and zip past me trying to make some sort of point but it doesn't bother me. About 95% of interactions that I have relating to the Emira are extremely positive.

Not only more common but more aggressive as well. So close that I can't even see their headlights in a rearview. According to my college sophomore son - the running up on another car, getting really close, then whipping round (as close as possible) is all part of "cutting". Evidently, the new and exciting 16-25yo method of driving.

Last edited:
Drove home 250 miles yesterday, had a Civic whip in and out of traffic at high speed behind me and run up to my bumper at more than 100mph. The other driver hung so close to the rear of my car that I couldn’t see his grill, all the while his passenger had his phone out filming my car. I moved to the right to let him by (rather than gun it, which I’m sure is what he wanted). After pulling alongside to continue filming he finally sped off, driving like a knob.

Aw man... I came to this "tailgating" thread thinking somebody was going to be showing pics in the car park at a ball game, using the Emira's trunk as a food warmer. The disappointment is real.